in love with wonderland

Last week I finished reading Alice in the Wonderland and Through the Looking-Glass written by Lewis Caroll and I absolutely loved it. The story was captivating, full of logical and philosophical ideas and illustrations drawn by John Tenniel couldn’t depict characters and settings better. I actually enjoyed it a whole lot more than the movie. Weirdly enough, I always read a book after I watch a movie that’s based on it and I didn’t have in mind to read the book at first. But I am glad I did because it was worth it.

As for Through the Looking-Glass, I think that what caught my interest and made me want to read it was the chess theme that was there throughout the whole story. I am personally a huge fan of the game and I like to play it from time to time. I am sure that after reading this book people who have never played it before will become interested in it.

I picked some quotes that were my favorite. You can take a minute to think about them. I hope it makes you day even more beautiful!

“But I don’t want to go among mad people,” Alice remarked.
“Oh, you can’t help that,” said the Cat: “we’re all mad here. I’m mad. You’re mad.”
“How do you know I’m mad?” said Alice.
“You must be,” said the Cat, or you wouldn’t have come here.”

“I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then.” – Alice

“It’s a great huge game of chess that’s being played–all over the world–if this is the world at all, you know. Oh, what fun it is!” – Alice

illustrated by John Tenniel

 

2 thoughts on “in love with wonderland

Leave a Reply

